College Teas allow a small gathering of students to speak with and ask questions of important guests that Head of College Camacho invites. Teas have hosted professional athletes, authors, actors, cartoonists, journalists, politicians, professors, and leaders from various industries. Students also enjoy tea, snacks, and Lisa’s famous cookies. Teas are usually held in the afternoon in the Head of College’s House. Keep an eye out for posters and emails throughout the academic year.

Ross Gay, February 2024

Raphaela Schweiger, November 2023

Ruben Reyes Jr., October 2023

Dr. Eric P. Winer, April 2023

U.S. Poet Laureate Ada Limón, February 2023

Rebecca Kuang, February 2023

Jamal Greene, November 2022

Jia Tolentino, October 2022

Laura Jayne Tunbridge, April 2022

Livia Sobota, October 2021

Paola Velez, February 2020


Carla Minet & Luis Valentin Ortiz, October 2019


Amitava Kumar, November 2018


Jason Stanley, November 2018


David Begnaud, September 2018


Casa Monarca, November 2017


Migrant Justice, September 2017


Benjamin Grant, February 2017


Eli Kintish, December 2016


Dr. Jeni Klugman, November 2016


Josh King, September 2016


Asma Jahangir, September 2016


Angélique Kidjo, January 2015


Tea Photo Archive



Recent guests have included: 

Mina Kimes, Senior Writer at ESPN the Magazine and award winning investigative journalist

Hal Brooks, Artistic Director of the Pearl Theatre Company and the Cape Cod Theatre Project

Angélique Kidjo, Grammy Award–winning singer-songwriter and activist from Benin

Jeremy Scahill, National Security Correspondent for The Nation and Windham Campbell Prizewinner

Clifton Spargo, Author of Beautiful Fools: The Last Affair of Zelda and Scott Fitzgerald 

Cherríe Moraga, Writer, poet and playwright

Rob Sheffield, Contributing editor at Rolling Stone and author of Talking to Girls About Duran Duran: One Young Man’s Quest for True Love and a Cooler Haircut. Yale Class of 1988.

Azie Dungey, Author of Ask a Slave featured on NPR, BBC, Gawker and Slate

David Lammy, An important figure in British politics and a member of the Greater London Assembly

Adepero Oduye, Nigerian-American Actress known for her performance in the film Pariah

Joann Lo, Executive director of the Food Chain Workers Alliance. Yale Class of 1997.

Zeca Camargo, Renowned Brazilian journalist and newscaster

David González, Award-winning co-editor of the New York Times Lens blog. Yale class of 1979.  

Kareem Abdul-Jabbarformer professional basketball player

Laila Al-Arian, writer and producer for Al Jazeera English 

Elizabeth Alexander, essayist, playwright, professor; recited original poem at 2009 Presidential Inaguration

Professor Giselle Anatol, literature professor, author

Jeremy Bargiel, cell phone applications developer; writer for Veggietales and Cartoon Network

Jennifer Baszile, author, Yale history professor

Moustafa Bayoumi, writer, English professor

Rubén Beltrán, Consul General of Mexico in New York

Larry Berman, UC Davis Professor of Political Science

Elisabeth Biondi, New Yorker Magazine visual editor

Richard Blanco, the 2013 Inaugural poet in his first post-inauguration public appearance

Anna Burger, Secretary-Treasurer of Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Mark Cunningham, New York Post editor

David Darst, Managing Director and Chief Investment Strategist at Morgan Stanlet Smith Barney

Ruth DeGolia, co-founder of nonprofit trade organization Mercado Global

Kevin Delaney, Stiles alum and Editor-in-Chief of Quartz, a digital business magazine

Junot Díaz, author, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Joshua Foer, author, 2006 USA Memory Champion

Scott Freiman, composer, producer, Beatles historian

Marcelo de Camargo Furtado, Greenpeace Brazil Executive Director

Marichal Gentry, Yale Dean of Student Affairs

Josh Goldman, founder and CEO of Australis Aquaculture

Jennifer Gordon, professor of immigration and labor law

Shujaa Graham, exhonerated death row inmate and activist

Marc Grossman, U.S. Special Envoy to Afghanistan and Pakistan

Vanita Gupta, civil rights lawyer, Deputy Legal Director of the American Civil Liberties Union

Bernard Gwertzman, journalist

Jeph Jacques, cartoonist, Questionable Content

Marc Hayashi, Japanese-American actor and theater director

Cathy Horyn, New York Times fashion critic

Joe Kane, journalist, author

Mitch Kapor, Mozilla founder

Robert D. Kaplan, National Correspondent for the Atlantic Monthly

Lloyd Kaufman, film director, producer, screenwriter, actor

Linda Kerber, American historian, professor

Sarah Kernochan, documentarian, fim director, screenwriter, producer

Neelima Khetan, chief executive of Seva Mandir

Stephen Kieran, founder of sustainable design architecture firm KieranTimberlake

Shirley Knight, actress,Desperate Housewives, Our Idiot Brother

Brendan Koerner, contributing editor for Wired magazine

Ben LaBolt, Press Secretary for President Obama’s Reelection Campaign

Mariam Lam, comparative literature professor 

Chang-rae Lee,  Korean American novelist and creative writing profesor

Richard Lester, film director, A Hard Day’s Night

Dave Levin, founder of KIPP Charter Schools

Dr. Timothy Light, scholar of East Asian languages and literature

Felix Maradiaga, International Management Consultant at Management Systems International in Nicaragua

Betita Martínez, Chicana feminist, community organizer, activist, author

Joyce Maynard, author

Laura McCarger, founder of Youth Rights Media

Frances McDormand, actress, North Country, Burn After Reading

Richard Montoya, playwright, “American Night: The Ballad of Juan Jose”

Linda Moreno, defense attorney specializing in national security and terrorism cases

Javier Morillo-Alicea, president of Service Employees International Union in the Twin Cities, leader of OutFront Minnesota

Robert Nave, death penalty abolition advocate

Anahad O’Connor, reporter for the New York Times

Odili, modern artist

Gary Okihiro, professor of international and public affairs

Vitaly Patsyukov, head curator of the Center for Contemporary Art in Moscow

Tom Periello, former U.S. Representative for Virginia’s 5th congressional district

Nate Persily, law professor

Andre Petry, journalist for VEJA, Brazil’s leading news magazine

Caryl Phillips, author, professor

Sam Quiñones, journalist, freelance writer in Mexico

Governor Bill Richardson, former governor of New Mexico

Lara Setrakian, Middle East correspondent for Bloomberg Television

Kamila Shamsie, Pakistani American novelist

Cindy Sheehan, anti-war activist

Brent Staples, editorial writer for the New York Times, author

JC de Swaan, Princeton economics professor

Senator José Serrano, New York State Senator

Chaske Spencer, actor, Twilight

Strobe Talbott, American foreign policy analyst, Deputy Secretary of State

Andre Leon Talley, American editor-at-large for Vogue

Alan Taylor, historian

Helen Thomas, White House Press Corps member

Gabriel Thompson, author, journalist

Christina Weiss-Lurie, film producer

Bob Woodward, investigative journalist